SPAR South Africa’s North Rand Region Celebrates Women in Sport

SPAR South Africa’s North Rand region proudly sponsors Tshwane Women in Sport Awards. This year, esteemed guests included renowned sportswomen Caster Semenya and Cllr. Peggy de Bruin, MMC of Recreation and Social Development. The 2023 ceremony celebrating the Tshwane Women In Sport Awards dedicated to honouring women in sport was held on the morning of 24 June in Tshwane.

Congratulations all nominees

Some of the biggest names in South African sport, including Olympic and Commonwealth medal winners, were among the honourees and nominees of this initiative.

Retha Ingenbleek, SPAR South Africa’s North Rand sponsorship controller, expressed her pride in supporting such an empowering event: “We are delighted to have sponsored the Tshwane Women In Sport Awards. SPAR is committed to promoting equality and providing opportunities for women in sports. Congratulations to all the winners who have showcased outstanding talent and dedication.”

The winners of the Tshwane Women In Sport Awards 2023 are as follows:

Sportswoman of the Year: Lara van Niekerk (Swimming) – Winner
Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability: Kgothatso Montajne (Tennis)
WinnerMost Promising Athlete of the Year: Wendy Shongwe (Soccer) – Winner
School Sports Athlete of the Year: Megan Maree (Athletics + Hockey) – Winner
Most Promising Team of the Year: Gauteng North Figure Skating – Winner
Coach of the Year Individual Sport: Moonyean Britz (Boxing) – Winner
Administrator of the Year: Riana Bezuidenhout (Netball) – Winner
Technical Official of the Year: Benita Kleynhans (Swimming) – Winner
Game Changer of the Year: Anne Waldek-Thill (Figure Skating) – Winner
Sports Programme of the Year: Shoshanguve FM – Winner
Community Media of the Year: Garankuwa FM
Sponsor of the Year: SPAR
Community-Based Sport and Rec Program of the Year: Altus Sport – Winner
Amateur Photographer of the Year: Trevor Mabona – Winner
Presidents Awards: Claudine Claassen (Netball), Lonwabo Nkohla (Media), Hayley Wallker (Figure Skating), Kelebogile Lefhiedi (Soccer), Lianza Gericke (Gymnastics)
President’s Excellence Award: Caster Semenya
MMC Peggy de Bruin Special Award: Tebogo Macheke (Cricket)

Retha Ingenbleek further commented, “We congratulate all the winners and commend their exceptional achievements in their respective sports. SPAR remains committed to supporting women in sport, and we look forward to continuing our partnership with the Tshwane Women In Sport Awards to inspire and empower more women in the future.”

Inclusive sporting opportunities

SPAR South Africa not only holds a series of races which supports women runners across the country but also sponsors the national women’s netball team. The company is committed to taking an active role in the future of sport in South Africa. Over the past 20 years, they have supported women’s sport in particular, recognising a real need to assist in an area traditionally overlooked by sponsors. Their sponsorship of both national teams and local events comes from an interest in creating inclusive sporting opportunities for all.

You may also like

Popular News